My thoughts. New Border? New Boss? #indyref

1603. This happened.

James I

King James the First Uniting England and Scotland, Paul Rubens, 1632-33. ©Birmingham Museums Trust.

1706. This happened.

Treaty_of_Union

Treaty of Union, 1706.

18 September 2014. This might happen.

Maddy Burrows. Scottish Independence Student Art

©Maddy Burrows, 2014.

BTW. More fabulous images by students at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design in Dundee on the #indyref theme here.

At Primary School the following messages where drilled into me:

Second World War = Bad
Europe united = Good

I got older.
Europe got bigger.
The Berlin Wall came down.

Bowie At Berlin WallDavid Bowie at the Berlin Wall (just because)

The Euro was introduced. I travelled through three countries using one currency.

I learnt. I believe.
Less borders. More freedom = Good.

I don’t want a new Border.
Divisive in so many ways.

I believe in Democracy. I’ve always voted. It is no more a utopian solution than any other form of government.

And. This.

tumblr_mk0b6xfqtR1rbr48lo1_1280

“Yeah.
Meet the new boss.
Same as the old boss“.

FIN

About rachelcockett

Museum professional. Fundraiser. Trustee. Feminist. Atheist.
This entry was posted in History, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My thoughts. New Border? New Boss? #indyref

Leave a Reply

